An Update on life – the future

“We spend a lot of time wondering about the future, whether we will know success and reach our goals. But what if the future is ours to create, what if chance plays no part and instead the way to our hopes and dreams is through our own actions. Success is not bestowed on the lucky few, the reality is that pioneers struggle, ask any person that has had success and they will tell you it is about hard work.  How hard are you willing to work for your dreams? Don’t over analyse or out think yourself, create your history, hold tight to what you believe, put in more work than anyone else, believe in yourself and create the future you imagine, don’t just watch, do it”.  I came across this whilst watching a presentation recently and thought it was very thought provoking.

I have always believed that we create our own destiny and if your dreams do not scare you then they are not big enough. What is your own vision for the next two years of your life and more importantly can you describe it in 60 seconds so I can feel your passion in describing it and know that you really believe you will achieve it?  When I come across people that are able to do this I have no doubt they will achieve whatever it is they want.

Life has been very busy of late and I must apologise for not keeping on top of my blogs. That will change over the next few weeks/months.

Work however has been both wonderful and busy.  I am still fortunate to undertake a job that I love.  The vast majority of the time I have to simply shown people how talented they actually are.

A master in the art of living draws no sharp distinction between his work and his play; his labor and his leisure; his mind and his body; his education and his recreation. He hardly knows which is which. He simply pursues his vision of excellence through whatever he is doing, and leaves others to determine whether he is working or playing. To himself, he always appears to be doing both.  François-René de Chateaubriand –

My work in the sporting World continues to grow and I am pleased to have worked with the Lincolnshire ACF who have just completed a cross channel swim, some of them will be undertaking this again in September.  This is a phenomenal achievement.

The football and rugby season are about to begin which will mean a busy period of work, which I am looking forward to.  Especially with some of the work I undertake with the academies of those professions.  It is great to work with the next generation of talent and hopefully give them some guidance in how to perform at the highest levels.

Employ your time in improving yourself by other people’s writings so that you shall come easily by what other have labored hard for-Socrates

I have recently been involved in preparing people for interviews (from areas as wide as business, sports, academia and law) and this has been very fulfilling by simply enabling the candidates to truly perform at their best.  I have only had one person not achieve their goal and even in this case the person has opened up other opportunities due to their outstanding performance.  The key was to simply prepare in depth, talk through the likely questions and role-play the types of activities they would be expected to perform (teach, put them under pressure and then test them).  Once they had gone through a few sessions they simply shone and were able to articulate why they should be selected over other candidates.

I have also been working in a new arena, that of cyber protection. It has been interesting and great to be working with very talented technical people alongside practitioners who have experience in this field and those that have had to deal with attacks on a commercial and state perspective.  I have also written an article on this subject for the guardian. Here is the link.

My training is also hitting new heights and I am being put through a full fitness assessment in August (always good to have a reality check every now and then). I have also returned to boxing and I have been sparring which has been wonderful.  My youngest daughter has also learnt to put me through my paces and has taken a number of sessions of late (she is turning into a tough trainer).

Work on my books (a novel and a leadership book) has been going well, all the thinking has been done and I know what I want to achieve.  It is time to put the hard work in and start making sense of those thoughts.  I may take a couple of weeks away and concentrate on getting the meat of them finished.  I shall of course pick somewhere nice to do this although it will be hard to find a more beautiful place than Britain when the weather is as good as it has been.

Great to see the Lions team and the English cricket team do well.  I am always fascinated by people/media who were waiting for things to go wrong.  It was wonderful to see the leaders in both those sports stick to their guns when it would have been easy to take the safe route and potentially lose an opportunity to win.  You can’t win from a defense position at some stage you must look to attack.

Have a wonderful week ahead.  From somewhere in the south of France.

Leave a Reply

